Your Councillors

Honiara City Mayor Andrew Mua

The Full Council are the elected Councillors from Honiara’s 12 wards, Honiara Members of Parliament from East, Central and West Constituencies, and four more Appointed Councillors as appointed by the Minister of Home Affairs or a total of 20 members.

How are Councillors Elected?

Every four years the Honiara City Council has an election for registered voters to elect the Councillor of their Ward.

There are 12 Wards in Honiara City and one Councillor is elected for each Ward to represent the people of that Ward in Council decisions

The process of electing a member for the Council is done in accordance with the provision provided for in the Local Government Act, the Honiara City Act 1999 and the Honiara City Council Election Regulations 1999.

Each Councillor has a Ward Development Fund for the purpose of developing the well being of those residents of that Ward. Read more here – click here.

HCC Ward Map

Click on the Map to view a larger map.

Your Councillors

The Honiara City Council consists of:

  • Twelve elected members, from the twelve Wards of Honiara.
  • Four members to be appointed by the Minister of Home Affairs provided one of the members is from Guadalcanal Province.
  • Members of Parliament who represent Honiara City.
  • The Premier of Guadalcanal Province.

Your Mayor

The Mayor of Honiara City is elected within fourteen days after an ordinary election from the Elected Councillors of Honiara City.

Only Elected Councillors can be nominated for the Mayors Office and they are elected by majority from the Elected Councillors, Appointed Councillors and Ex-Officio Councillors.

Honiara City

"My City, Your City, Our City".

Get Involved Standing Up For Honiara

Support the My Honiara Campaign by joining Team Honiara !!!!

Give feedback or request or request information on council services and activities.
Events Calendar
Find out about whats happening in the Council and the Community.
Working with the Council
Job Vacancies. Tenders and Expression of Interest.